How Nature Photography Makes Me Whole

Have you ever done a hobby that makes you feel whole?  Nature Photography does just that for me.  If you’re into nature photography, then you know that going to state and national parks are a must.  State and national parks are great for seeing natural beauty in person.  That natural beauty makes you feel so small on this planet.  Now, when you capture it on a camera, that experience now becomes that much better.  That feeling is why I choose this as my topic.

Photo of me in Sequoia National Park.

I plan to take my photos and video footage from my Sony Alpha camera.  I will be taking my audio recording from my Dell laptop computer.  I got this camera about 6 months ago, and it has all of the niche’s that a photographer needs.  Now, having a camera that can do all of that is half of it, but you need places to go.  I currently live in Southern Utah, and we are surrounded with state and natural parks here.  I have both a state and national park pass, which I use extensively almost every weekend.

Jenny’s Slot Canyon in Snow Canyon State Park.

I know that this class asks us for projects throughout this semester, regarding our chosen topics.  I already have ideas rolling through my head and am confident about 2 of my 4 topics.  For the Unit 2 project, I plan to make a design which incorporates both a camera, and the Southern Utah landscape.  I will incorporate the warm looking colors like red, orange, and yellow.  If you’ve been to Southern Utah before, then you know that the colors here are very warm.  Now, for the Unit 4 project, I plan to make a video about my adventure to the mountains.  I will want to start the video from the moment I wake up in the morning, to the moment I get home from my adventure.  The video will share my story of nature photography.

Kanarra Falls located in Kanarraville, UT.

Leave a comment